Letting Your Spirit Run Free Through Writing and Illustrating

As an author of picture books (and young adult) who is working on getting published, I take pride in reading what other authors and illustrators write. I do not illustrate my books as I leave that up to the professionals but I do imagine what the illustrations might look like as I write.

20160818_111410

[As you can see above, I am best to leave the illustrating to the professionals and hone the story instead.]

Reading and researching are as much a part of writing as the writing itself.

how big could your pumpking grow

To be exceptional or even good at at writing, one must READ, READ, READ. To be exceptional at illustrating picture books one must STUDY, STUDY, STUDY AND READ, READ, READ picture books as well. Research is key!

the searcher and the old tree

Since 2012, I have read over 2,500 picture books to learn what’s out there in the marketplace and learn who’s writing  and illustrating them. (In 2014 I discovered Goodreads where I joined and started keeping track of all of the books I read which obviously does not have anything pre-October 2014)

But can I name the books, the authors, the illustrators, the publishers? Not off the top of my head. Too many to list and too many to remember. But if you are looking for specific authors, illustrators or publishers books, a good place to start is http://www.goodreads.com.

Which brings me to the point of this post. Since I do not illustrate, I am in awe of illustrators. And if the illustrator also writes their own story then WHAM! I am starstruck. Therefore, I can however give you a sampling of the author/illustrators whose books I recently enjoyed for both the writing and the illustrating.

Without further ado, by photo and in no specific order, here are some of my favorite books by Author/Illustrators:

float

badgers fancy meal

who says woof

go away big green monster

grandpa green

roses garden

the big orange splot

puddle

one mornin in maine

rrralph

the storm whale

the opposite

sea bones

the z was zapped

the mixed up chameleon

10 minutes till bedtime

bats at the beach

animalia

in the night kitchen

Achoo!

Below is the list of author/illustrators in order of above book appearance in this post starting with the header photo.

Denise Fleming – @DeniseKFleming

David McPhail – davidmcphailillustrations.com

Patrick McDonnell – @MUTTScomics

Steven Kellogg – stevenkellogg.com

Mercer Mayer – @MercerMayer

David Ezra Stein – davidezra.com

Jeannie Baker – www.jeanniebaker.com

Ashley Spires – @ashleyspires

Dav Pilkey – www.pilkey.com

Daniel Miyares – @danielmiyares

John Burningham – @john_burningham

Wendell Minor – @WendellMinor

Keiko Kasza – keikokasza.com/books.php

John Butler – www.johnbutlerart.com

Ed Embereley – @EdEmberley

Lane Smith – lanesmithbooks.com

Peter H. Reynolds – @peterhreynolds

Daniel Pinkwater – @DanielPinkwater

Hyewon Yum – www.hyewonbook.com

Robert McCloskey

Lois Ehlert – www.harpercollins.com/authors/12055

Benji Davies – @Benji_Davies

Il Sung Na – @ilsungna

Bob Barner – www.bobbarner.com

Chris Van Allsburg – http://hmhbooks.com/chrisvanallsburg/

Eric Carle – @ericcarle @carlemuseum @WorldEricCarle

Peggy Rathmann – www.peggyrathmann.com

Brian Lies – @BrianLiesbooks

Graeme Base – graemebase.com

Maurice Sendak – https://www.harpercollins.com/cr-100369/maurice-sendak

Shennen Bersani – @ShennenBersani

 

May this list inspire you to do your creative best.

Happy reading!

Traci

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

