WRITERS DON’T ONLY WRITE

Writers are an odd bunch I am told repeatedly when the subject of writers comes up. Me being a writer, this is not as often as you would think.

Well that’s odd huh? Not really. There is a stigma attached to this very profession the same as actors, musicians, artists, etc. A common belief is that we creative professions do not actually work but do whatever we want all day instead of work.

Part of that statement is true for me. I do actually do what I want most of the day which is write. However, I also do housework, mow the lawn, garden, run errands, do laundry all during the same time I spend to write full time. My eight to ten hours of work include more than just writing time.

Besides being a homemaker during my writing time (none of which I am paid for though the work gets done: kudos to all homemakers out there, you rock!!) I also have to research and read and work on skills for my writing craft like any job does. READINGforRESEARCH - Logo

I came into the writing profession later in my life (I have been writing sporadically for over twenty-five years but raising kids came first). Due to a shoulder injury, the two jobs I was working (and getting paid for) in the school district and a hospital, I lost. I had surgery and was not allowed to go back into that field of work anymore or I would just rip out my shoulder again. At that time, my youngest was in her senior year of high school so my husband and I decided it was time for me to pursue my dream career. In late 2012, when healed enough to read books and type, I started studying and taking classes to amp up my knowledge of the field of #kidlit writing. I had so much to catch up on!!

writing picture books

I wrote with vigor and passion for the first year and a half just to get the words out. Then in 2014, I met with one of our towns local celebrities who is picture book author, Jamie A. Swenson at her book signing at our library and she steered me to join SCBWI which I had not heard of but promptly joined. SCBWI Member-badges-300x260 I learned quickly my problem with my writing, I had not done my research on most parts of the publishing world let alone picture books and young adult books. Miss Dorothy liv, forever

This is where my love of books and reading comes in. I started checking out books from our library and seeing what the kids were reading. I checked out books on publishing and researched several resources SCBWI recommended and attended my first ever conferences. 2014 children's market

These were eye openers. I knew I was on the right track in staying connected with our library to get the best information out there but I also learned to use the internet more effectively to find true and appropriate information I sought.

I now have a few picture book manuscripts polished and several more works in progress which I am currently doing research on. In fact, I took the month of June off of writing to concentrate on research, reading and skill technique dissection which takes just as much time if not more than writing itself. Here is a list of what I have read so far this June:

THE DAY THE DOG DRESSED LIKE DAD by Tom Amico

FARLEY FOLLOWS HIS NOSE by Lynn Johnston farley follows his nose

HELLO PUPPY! By Jane Cowen-Fletcher

SALLY’S SNOW ADVENTURE by Stephen Huneck

PICK A PUP by Marsha Wilson Chall

CHEWY LOUIE  by Howie Schneider

SHOE DOG by Megan McDonald

I DON’T WANT A POSH DOG by Emma Dodd

DOG BLUE by Polly Dunbar

FINE AS WE ARE by Alby Craig Hall

SOME DOGS DO by Jez Alborough

WHAT’S THE BIG IDEA, MOLLY? By Valeri Gorbachev

SALLY’S GREAT BALLOON ADVENTURE by Stephen Huneck

I AM THE DOG by Daniel Pinkwater

BAD DOG FLASH by Ruth Paul

WOLF’S COMING by Joe Kulka

BIZZ AND BUZZ MAKE HONEY by Dee Leone

SAYING GOODBYE TO LULU by Corinne Demas saying goodbye to lulu

UP IN HEAVEN by Emma Chichester Clark

ON A WINDY NIGHT by Nancy Raines day

ONE DARK NIGHT by Hazel Hutchins

CHARLOTTE JANE BATTLES BEDTIME by Myra Wolfe

TIME FOR BED, LITTLE ONE by Caroline Pitcher

SWEET DREAMS by Rose A, Lewis

GOOD NIGHT HARRY by Kim Lewis

GRANDMA’S HOUSE by Alice Melvin

BUMP IN THE NIGHT by Edward Hemingway

OWLY & WORMY, BRIGHT LIGHTS AND STARRY NIGHTS by Andy Runton

A HORSE’S TALE: A COLONIAL WILLISMABRUG ADVENTURE by Susan Lubner

GEORGE FERRIS’ GRFAND IDEA: THE FERRIS WHEEL by Jenna Glatzner

ONE DARK NIGHT by Lisa Wheeler

BONE SOUP by Cambria Evans

WEE WINNIE WITCH’S SKINNY by Virginia Hamilton

RUTHIE BON AIR: DO NOT GO TO BED WITH WRINGING WET HAIR by Susan Lubner

ONE SCARY NIGHT by Antoine Guilloppé

NOISES AT NIGHT by Beth Raisner glass

HARRY AND THE MONSTER by Sue Mongredien

THE BUMBLEBEE QUEEN by April Pulley Sayre

ANT ANT ANT: AN INSECT CHANT by April Pulley Sayre

THE PAGEMASTER by David Kirschner

BACK TO BED, ED by Sebastien Braun

HUSH, LITTLE PUPPY by April Pulley Sayre

TIME TO SAY “PLEASE”! BY Mo Willems

NO MONSTERS HERE by Sharon Jennings

DOGS ON THE BED by Elizabeth Bluemle

UNIDENTIFIED SUBURBAN OBJECT by Mike Jung

PAX by Sara Pennypacker

GIRAFFES CAN’T DANCE by Giles Andreae

MY CROCODILE DOES NOT BITE by Joe Kulka

PICNIC by John Burningham

BOOM SNOT TWITTY by Doreen Cronin

JUST DUCKS! By Nicola Davies

LOST FOR WORDS by Natalie Russell

BANDIT by Karen Rostoker-Gruber

FERRET FUN by Karen Rostoker-Gruber

MEET THE HOWLERS! By April Pulley Sayre

CHIMP AND ZEE AND THE BIG STORM  by Laurence Anholt

LEOPOLD THE LION by Denise Brennan-Nelson

SURF’S UP by Kwame Alexander

THE SECRET SUBWAY by Shana Corey

PIG AND SMALL by Alex Latimer

SPOT, THE CAT by Henry Cole

HICCUPOTAMUS by Steve Smallman

BUNNY DREAMS by Peter McCarthy

CAN WE SAVE THE TIGER?  By Martin Jenkins

BAILEY  by Harry Bliss

MISS BROOKS LOVES BOOKS! Barbara Bottner

READ ALL ABOUT IT! By Jenna Bush

THINK BIG by Liz Garton Scanlon

INCREDIBLE ME! By Kathi Appelt

NO ONE BUT YOU by Douglas Wood

BIRTHDAY ZOO by Deborah Lee Rose

BOB AND OTTO by Robert O. Bruel

I DON’T LIKE TO READ by Nancy Carlson

A BALLOON FOR ISABEL by Deborah Underwood a balloon for isabel

STANLEY AND THE CLASS PET by Barney Saltzberg

WATCH OUT! BIG BRO’S COMING! By Jez Alborough

SHHH! By Valeri Gorbachev

MY BOOK BOX by Will Hillenbrand

MONEKY AND ME by Emily Gravett

EDDIE’S KITCHEN AND HOW TO MAKE GOOD THINGS TO EAT by Sarah Garland

THE QIZARD, THE UGLY AND THE BOOK OF SHAME by Pablo Bernasconi

THE BEST DAYS ARE DOG DAYS by Aaron Meshon

THE CHILDREN WHO LOVED BOOKS by Peter Carnavas

OUR COMMUNITY GARDEN by Barbara Pollak

THE PAIN AND THE GREAT ONE by Judy Blume

KITTEN’S FIRST FULL MOON by Kevin Henkes

SAY HELLO! By Rachel Isadora

MY MOM IS A FIREFIGHTER by Lois G. Grambling

MISS MANGO WEATHERS THE STORM by Jamie Harper

DISAPPEARING DESMOND by Anna Alter

THE HOUSE THAT ZACK BUILT by Alison Murray

SNOW LEOPARDS BY Patricia Hutchison

ENDANGERED ANIMALS OF ASIA by Marie Allgor

ON THE FARM, AT THE MARKET by Brian G. karas

THE PIRATE JAMBOREE by Mark Teague

SECRET TREE FORT by Brianne Farley

I WON A WHAT? By Audrey Vernick i won a what

RAIN FISH by Lois Ehlert

HORRIBLE BEAR by Ame Dyckman

THE TWO TIMS by David Elliott

MY OLD PAL, OSCAR by Amy Hest

ONE LITTLE, TWO LITTLE, THREE LITTLE CHILDREN by Kelly DiPucchio

SNAIL AND WORM: THREE STORIES ABOUT TWO FRIENDS by Tina Kugler

THIS IS MY DOLLHOUSE by Giselle Potter

I LOVE CAKE: STARRING RABBIT, PORCUPINE AND MOOSE by Tammi Sauer

GATOR DAD by Brian Lies

FLYING FROGS AND WALKING FISH;…by Steve Jenkins

ON BIRD HILL by Jane Yolen

RULES OF THE HOUSE by Mac Barnett rules of the house

THE THANK YOU BOOK by Mo Willems

 

And the month is only half over. This list does not include the young adult or children’s fiction I have read so far. (only five total in these categories)

Time to get back to laundry and then head outside to wash car and mow the lawn and then back to some research. I have a HUGE STACK of books waiting for me.
Ah, the life of a writer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

