TGIF: Need I Say More?!

scramble – verb, noun

[skram-buh l]

verb

  1.   always followed by an adverb or preposition : to move or climb over something quickly especially while also using your hands
  2.   to move or act quickly to do, find, or get something often before someone else does
  3.   to prepare (eggs) by mixing the white and yellow parts together and then stirring the mixture in a hot pan scrambling eggs
  4.   to put (parts of something) in the wrong order — often used as (be) scrambled
  5.   to change (a radio or electronic signal) so that whoever receives it will not be able to understand it
  6.   American football, of a quarterback : to run with the ball while being chased by defensive players

noun

7.    a quick climb or progression over rough, irregular ground.

8.    a struggle for possession or gain:

9.    Military. an emergency takeoff of interceptors performed in the shortest possible time.

Since I was old enough to know the days of the week, I have always looked forward to Fridays. Fridays were full of promises of fun, taking it easy and no chores. (If chores had to be done on Friday, then Friday night usually meant a reward such as going out to eat or homemade pizzas so I scrambled to get my work done.)

In elementary school, I looked forward to Fridays as this was story day from kindergarten through fourth grade; fifth and sixth grade we had free art hour in class on top of art class!

Junior high years, Fridays meant freedom from homework. I never did my homework on Friday nights. If I did not get it done in school, I did it Sunday.

High school years brought the no homework rule for as usual but also brought working on Friday nights. Most kids would not have liked this but working Friday night meant making money.

After graduation, Fridays still held their mystery for me because after work, I could go home and relax and read books. Within every book was a new adventure (I learned this as a young child-books were my treasures) and I did not have time to read during the week so I coveted my Friday night read time.

Finally, when I met my husband, Friday nights were reserved for my bowling night and then when he came home from work later that night, a fishing adventure for crappies and bluegills until the sun came up ensued quite often (provided it was warm enough to enjoy fishing.)

As we had children, Friday nights meant no cooking for me and a laid back evening with my family.

When the kids became involved with activities, Friday nights changed and I still loved them for the new events they brought, such as heading out for a weekend of camping, dance rehearsals, attending their musicals and so much more.

Now, I look forward to Fridays as they hold a promise of some new adventure whether it’s hanging out with my kids, going out with my hubby, seeing friends or doing anything we want. Fridays are the key to refreshing, renewing and unwinding.

I LOVE FRIDAYS!!!!

What are Fridays to you?

Leave a Reply

