Night Time Stroll

noctambulous – adjective

[nok-tam-byuh-luh s]

1.   of, relating to, or given to sleepwalking.

boomlet – noun

[boom-lit]

1.   a brief increase, as in business activity or political popularity.

sting – verb, noun

[sting]

verb

1.   of an insect, plant, or animal : to hurt (someone) by piercing the skin with a sharp, pointed part that usually contains poison

2.   to cause a quick, sharp pain

3.   to feel a quick sharp pain

4.   not used in progressive tenses : to cause (someone) to feel emotional or mental pain

5.   to treat (someone) unfairly in a business deal — usually used as (be/get) stung

6.   to cheat or take advantage of, especially to overcharge; soak.

7.   to cause a sharp, smarting pain, as some plants, an acrid liquid or gas,or a slap or hit.

8.   to feel acute mental pain or irritation:

noun 

9.   an act or an instance of stinging.

10.  a wound, pain, or smart caused by stinging

11.  any sharp physical or mental wound, hurt, or pain.

12.  anything or an element in anything that wounds, pains, or irritates

13.  capacity to wound or pain

14.  a sharp stimulus or incitement

15.  Botany. a glandular hair on certain plants, as nettles, that emits an irritating fluid.

frantic – adjective

[fran-tik]

1.   feeling or showing a lot of fear and worry

2.   having a lot of wild and hurried activity

nuisance – noun

1.   a person, thing, or situation that is annoying or that causes trouble or problems — usually singular

2.   Law. something offensive or annoying to individuals or to the community, especially in violation of their legal rights.

Frantic, I ran all over the house. Lola, my little sister, was not in her bed. Even though she could be a nuisance, I didn’t want anything bad to happen to her.

Searching the house, I looked under the furniture, in closets, in the basement, in the garage, in cupboards but no Lola anywhere. Cool air blew on my neck.

Where’s that coming from? I thought, following the draft. The front door was open a few inches.

Mom and Dad were right behind me when I turned around.

“What is all the running around Kelsey? You’re going to wake your sister,” her Dad said.

“Um, no, Lola is already awake and somewhere outside I think. When I woke up, Lola wasn’t in her bed. I searched the entire house, but not Lola,” Kelsey rushed on.

Dad started muttering about boomlets or something that had to do with the increase of burglar activity in our neighborhood.

Mom finally spoke up. “Well, the front door didn’t open itself. If Lola is not in the house, she must be somewhere outside. Bundle up everyone and let’s find her.”

Dad helped Mom into her coat and me into mine. With our shoes and coats on, we headed out into the moonlit night.

First, we searched the yard. No Lola.

Now we had to split up and go different directions. We agreed to meet back at the house in ten minutes. Mom and I went south, Dad went north.

We walked two blocks when a flash of light blue pajamas caught my eye. I saw LOLA!

“C’mon Mom. Lola’s down there,” I said, pointing down the block. Lola was standing statue still looking at a white house. We caught up to her pretty fast.

“Lola, what are you doing outside at night?” Mom asked her. No response.

I stood in front of Lola. Wide open but apparently not seeing, were Lola’s eyes. I waved my hands in front of her. Nothing.

“Mom, I think Lola is sleepwalking.” I said.

“I believe you are correct. Let’s get her turned around and steer her toward home,” said Mom.

In minutes, we were back at home where Dad was waiting for us. Mom held her hand up. “She’s sleepwalking, Tom.”

Back in the house, Mom and Dad ushered Lola and me back into bed. Lola’s eyes fluttered. As Dad closed our door, I heard him tell Mom, “I grew out of my noctambulous activities; Lola will too. We just need to keep their bedroom door closed at night.”

In the morning, I told Lola she about her sleepwalking escapade last night.

“I have a cut on my arm and it stings. I must have caught it on something last night then. At least the mystery is solved then,” she laughed.

Leave a Reply

