Old Majestic

Parents, grandparents, caretakers and of course, young readers:

This is the first of my new daily picture book story offerings using Merriam Webster Learner’s Word of the Day selections. In fairness, I have to say that the pronunciation of each word was taken from http://www.dictionary.com though due to the ease of reading it.

These stories are meant to inspire young readers. Therefore, young readers, I will create the story and you can create the pictures to go along with them. Feel free to post your illustrations for the story in the comment section and I will share them (only if you give me permission to of course) Or, write your own sentence or story to go with the word of the day and post that in the comment section and I will share that as well if you would like.

Also, quite often these stories will be silly, just for word fun.  I found with my own daughters, when they were little, that sometimes the sillier stories stuck with them; they still remember them. Great way to learn new words huh?

Since I just came up with this idea, I decided to incorporate four new words starting with the July 4, 2015 word, majestic, through today’s word, spotlight.

Parents, I hope you enjoy sharing these with your kids.  My belief is that these will provide a creative way to interact with them.

Sincerely,

Traci

majestic – adjective

[muhjes-tik]

1.    large and impressively beautiful

flabbergast – verb

[flab-er-gast]

1.   to shock or surprise (someone) very much

landmark – noun

[land-mahrk]

1.   an object or structure on land that is easy to see and recognize

2.   US : a building or place that was important in history

3.   a very important event or achievement

spotlight – noun

[spot-lahyt]

1.   a device that directs a narrow, bright beam of light on a small area

2.    the area of light created by a spotlight

3.   public attention or notice

A giant, beautiful tree with dry, droopy branches stands at the entrance to Little City Park. it’s name is Old Majestic.

Little City Park is right in the middle of our town square.

My Grandma says, “That big, majestic tree has guarded Little City Park since I was your age. It doesn’t give much for shade in our hot dry summers but it is our town’s landmark.”

“Wow! That’s an old tree,” I say. Grandma squints her eyes at me.

“Yes it is,” she agrees. “This town was built around that tree as it was the only sequoia left standing after a wildfire burned down the rest two hundred years ago.”

“Yep and our town name became Little City to honor the little city of sequoias that burned.” I tell her, repeating what I learned in school.

I play in Little City Park almost every day with my best friend, Tommy. Most town kids play here.

Tommy and I race to see who can climb that tree the highest. We tie because the tree is so big, we cannot put our arms around it to hold on.

That tree is so big, twenty kids hide behind it for hide and seek.

“Hey everyone! There’s a big sign at the other side of the park!” a big kid shouts.

Me and Tommy and more kids race to the sign.

‘CELEBRATE THE UNVEILING OF LITTLE CITY’S NEW LANDMARK ON AUGUST 7TH!’ it reads.

“Why is Little City getting a new landmark?” I ask my parents at dinner.

“I heard Old Majestic is being cut down so Little City can put up a water fountain,” my older sister says.

“Fountains are not fun,” I say. I stab my peas with my fork thinking about chainsaws toppling Old Majestic.

Mom says, “That is just a rumor Sarah. The mayor is keeping it secret.”

A week later, a tall fence stood around Old Majestic and the whole south end of the park so no one could see in. Only the top half of Old Majestic could be seen.

Saws buzz, hammers pound and drills screech.

Grandma is flabbergasted. “They better not be thinking of cutting it down.”

On Monday, Tommy and I play tag. He tags me and says, “bulldozer.”

On Tuesday, we climb the rock wall. I reach the top and holler, “Dump truck!” over the noise.

Friday is really hot. Tommy and I get in a water balloon fight water balloon fight with lots of other kids. “CEMENT TRUCK!” a girl shouts as a balloon explodes on her elbow.

At noon on August 7, mine and Tommy’s family and most of the town gather around the front of Old Majestic and the fence. Two cranes sit by the fence which now looks like a big wrapped present.

“Welcome citizens of Little City. Today we are celebrating our new town landmark,” the Mayor announces through a megaphone.

The crowd whispers to each other.

“Citizens step back please. Crane operators, please lift the fencing.”

spotlight shines on the base of Old Majestic. The cranes lifts the fencing away.

“OOOOOOO! AHHHHHHH!” we say.

A horseshoe shaped moat with mini water fountains surround most of the base of our giant sequoia leaving several feet between the fountain and the tree trunk. Plenty of room left for climbing.

At the opening of Little City Park, in front of Old Majestic’s trunk is a plaque.

The Mayor reads it. ‘In honor of Old Majestic and all that you give us, we give you a permanent water supply that will quench your thirst as well as ours.- The town of Little City’

My sister nudges me, “Told you so.”

“Water fountains are cool I guess. I’m just happy Old Majestic will still stand guard.” I say.

“Me too,” she says.

Leave a Reply

