Pineapple Rhubarb Crisp: a taste bud delight

My husband and I crave rhubarb when it comes up each spring. It is a favorite spring vegetable like asparagus (although asparagus would not be tasty in a pie in my opinion). With a large rhubarb patch, we have plenty to last us through the summer season and even into fall if I freeze some of it.

Usually I make the traditional strawberry rhubarb pie or crisp. Occasionally I make a straight rhubarb pie if I crave a tarter dessert. I have also made rhubarb raspberry pie and glazed rhubarb cake. Rhubarb quick bread is also a treat.

This year though I decided to change it up a bit. My favorite fruit is fresh pineapple and with it’s sweetness, I figured if I combined it with rhubarb for a pineapple rhubarb crisp, I would be able to cut down on the sugar which I did. The end result is my favorite rhubarb dessert to date; a taste bud delight. DELICIOUS!

Below is my recipe for it, so be adventurous, try it out.

5 cups chopped rhubarb

3 cups chopped fresh pineapple

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup cornstarch

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

Combine the above ingredients in a large mixing bowl, tossing the rhubarb and pineapple to coat it with the sugar and cinnamon.

?
?

Grease a 9 x 13 baking pan with coconut oil. Spread the rhubarb, pineapple mixture evenly in the pan.

?
?

In a medium size mixing bowl combine the following until the oats are well coated.

2 1/2 cups oats

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/8 cup chia seeds

1/8 cup flaxseed meal

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup melted butter

Spread this mixture evenly over the rhubarb/pineapple. Dot the top of the oats with 6 pads of butter.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until the oats are browned.

Let sit for 20 minutes before eating. Serve warm with ice cream if desired. When completely cooled, cover and refrigerate.

That’s it. Enjoy. As you can see from the top photo, I enjoyed my first bite out of the pan.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Pineapple Rhubarb Crisp: a taste bud delight”

Leave a Reply

